NEW: Search for books with Google Maps!
   Sing Them Home
 

Sing Them Home

Author: Kallos, Stephanie Set In . . .
 North America, USA, Nebraska, Lincoln
Genre: Fiction
Time Frame: Late 20th Century
Published: 2008
Description:
One of Entertainment Weekly’s Ten Best Books of the Year: “A magical novel that even cynics will close with a smile” (People).
 
Everyone in Emlyn Springs, Nebraska, knows the story of Hope Jones, who was lost in the tornado of 1978. Her three young children found some stability in their father, a preoccupied doctor, and in their mother’s spitfire best friend—but nothing could make up for the loss of Hope.
 
Larken, the eldest, is now an art history professor who seeks in food an answer to a less tangible hunger. Gaelan, the son, is a telegenic weatherman who devotes his life to predicting the unpredictable. And the youngest, Bonnie, is a self-proclaimed archivist who combs roadsides for clues to her mother’s legacy, and permission to move on.
 
When they’re summoned home after their father’s sudden death, each sibling is forced to revisit the childhood event that has defined their lives. With lyricism, wisdom, and humor, this novel by the national bestselling author of Broken for You explores the consequences of protecting those we love. Sing Them Home is a magnificent tapestry of lives connected and undone by tragedy, lives poised—unbeknownst to the characters—for redemption.
 
“Comparisons to John Irving and Tennessee Williams would not be amiss in this show-stopping debut.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
 
Sing Them Home constantly surprises . . . A big cast of vividly portrayed characters.” —The Boston Globe
 
“Fans of Ann Patchett and Haven Kimmel should dive onto the sofa one wintry weekend with Stephanie Kallos’s wonderfully transportive second novel.” —Entertainment Weekly
  
Buy Now  
 
 
       
  Home Search Search with Google Maps Add a Book Contact Site Map  
 
Facebook