NEW: Search for books with Google Maps!
  
 

Preserving the World's Great Cities

Author: Tung, Anthony M. Set In . . .
 Europe, Italy, Venice, Rome, France, Paris, Netherlands, Amsterdam, Africa, Egypt, Cairo, Greece, Athens, Asia, Japan, Kyoto, Germany, Berlin, Middle East, Israel, Jerusalem, Singapore, North America, USA, South Carolina, Charleston, Poland, Warsaw, Austria, Vienna, China, Beijing, New York, New York City, England, London, Russia, Moscow, Central America, Mexico, Mexico City
Genre: Historical
Time Frame: Late 20th Century
Published: 2001
Description: Both epic and intimate, this is the story of the fight to save the world’s architectural and cultural heritage as it is embodied in the extraordinary buildings and urban spaces of the great cities of Asia, the Americas, and Europe.

Never before have the complexities and dramas of urban preservation been as keenly documented as in Preserving the World’s Great Cities. In researching this important work, Anthony Tung traveled throughout the world to visit remarkable buildings and districts in China, Italy, Greece, the U.S., Japan, and elsewhere. Everywhere he found both the devastating legacy of war, economics, and indifference and the accomplishments of people who have worked and sometimes risked their lives to preserve and renew the most meaningful urban expressions of the human spirit.

From Singapore’s blind rush to become the most modern city of the East to Warsaw’s poignant and heroic effort to resurrect itself from the Nazis’ systematic campaign of physical and cultural obliteration, from New York and Rome to Kyoto and Cairo, we see the city as an expression of the best and worst within us. This is essential reading for fans of Jane Jacobs and Witold Rybczynski and everyone who is concerned about urban preservation.
  
Buy Now  
 
 
       
  Home Search Search with Google Maps Add a Book Contact Site Map  
 
Facebook