NEW: Search for books with Google Maps!
   Baldwin Street
 

Baldwin Street

Author: Rakoff, Alvin Set In . . .
 North America, Canada, Ontario, Toronto
Genre: Short Stories
Time Frame: 1930s
Published: 2007
Description: ''Well-written and engaging . . . foretell[s] the continued intensity of social linkage among Toronto's Jews. . . . Perhaps [their] collective consciousness is founded not only on their common religious identification, but also on the rich lessons of the immigrant experience told in the stories about Baldwin Street and places like it.''--Dr. Morton I. Teicher

''As in works by Isaac Bashevis Singer and Chaim Potok, the novel is much more than a cultural essay, its appeal is as much in universal coming-of-age drama . . . as in aspects of the immigrant experience.''--Booklist

''With a sure hand . . . Rakoff presents a parade of colourful portraits . . . Redolent of the atmosphere of the old market of the prewar era, this package of linked narratives is well made and charming. . . . . they make for rewarding reading . . .''--Canadian Jewish News

''Rakoff captures both the good and the bad that can occur when diverse cultures come together. [It is] full of eclectic characters and situations, and it is a pleasant, easy read.''--Jewish Independent

Leonard Abelson is one of seven children. He lives above Abelson's Hardware on Baldwin Street in Kensington Market in Toronto. It's the 1930s. Leonard s father, Sam, a former merchant sailor who speaks fourteen languages, does the purchasing for the store; his mother, Pearl, a Ukranian emigre who was a victim of pogroms and marauding Cossacks after WWI, runs the shop floor.

Leonard wants to be a writer. He witnesses the affections, struggles, and meager hopes of his neighbors fuel for his imagination. Periodically, Leonard has to look after a young philosophy professor from the University of Toronto, Menasha Rifkin, who suffers from fugue states, squatting among the stalls on Baldwin Street reading Spinoza, Kant, and the Globe & Mail.

Halloween 1936. A band of young Italians invades Baldwin Street in search of blood. Marshall McDonald, the Irish cop who failed to quell the famous ''Wop'' vs. ''Yid'' riot at Christie Pits six years earlier, now must investigate the death of Bernie Altman, a young boy whose senseless slaughter lingers over the Jewish community like a bad dream. In the tradition of James T. Farrell's Studs Lonigan and Mordecai Richler's The Apprenticeship of Duddy Kravitz, Alvin Rakoff's Baldwin Street is literary fiction at its best.

This powerful novel presents a vivid mosaic of characters, the rich fabric of a community, and a boy's coming-of-age on the dusty, rough-and-tumble streets of Toronto.

  
Buy Now  
 
 
       
  Home Search Search with Google Maps Add a Book Contact Site Map  
 
Facebook