NEW: Search for books with Google Maps!
   Stein, Gender, Isolation, and Industrialism: New Readings of Winesburg, Ohio
 

Stein, Gender, Isolation, and Industrialism: New Readings of Winesburg, Ohio

Author: Simolke, Duane Set In . . .
 North America, USA, Ohio
Genre: Other
Time Frame: None
Published:
Description: Dr. Duane Simolke examines Sherwood Anderson's Winesburg, Ohio, as it relates to Gertrude Stein, gender roles, failed communication, and the machine in the garden. Simolke also looks at Anderson's concerns about mechanization, loneliness, and the mistreatment of many people.

"This work should be required reading in any college course involving the art and craft of short-story writing as well as in courses on Sherwood Anderson, himself." -Ronald L. Donaghe, author of Common Sons.

Simolke also wrote The Acorn Stories, a story cycle in the tradition of Winesburg, Ohio.
  
Buy Now  
 
 
       
  Home Search Search with Google Maps Add a Book Contact Site Map  
 
Facebook